In the last few days, Victoria’s Premier Daniel Andrews announced some changes on the permit system for Queensland and New South Wales. Please see a summary below.
New South Wales border towns
All Local Government Areas (LGAs) in the New South Wales’ border bubble have now been declared a GREEN ZONE.

VTIC has been working closely with the Murray Regional Tourism Board, Echuca Moama Tourism and operators in the region on this critical issue. Last week, we submitted a joint letter to Victoria’s Health Minister, Martin Foley, requesting a change in the status for the recognised LGAs in the border towns of NSW. This is an important change for our operators who have seen visitation to the region disappear since restrictions were introduced over the Christmas holidays.

From 6pm on Monday 18 January anyone in Albury City, Balranald Shire, Bega Valley Shire, Berrigan Shire, City of Broken Hill, Edward River Council, Federation Council, Greater Hume Shire, Hay Shire, Lockhart Shire, Murray River Council, Murrumbidgee Council, Snowy Monaro Regional Council, Snowy Valleys Council, City of Wagga Wagga and Wentworth Shire will not be required to self-quarantine or get tested on arrival back into Victoria.

A green zone travel permit is still required, but this is valid for 14 days from the date of travel and can be used multiple times. This is a vital shift that has not been well-promoted but means a great deal to the smooth operation of businesses along the Murray River region. Not having to apply for a permit every time someone crosses the border, means that visitors can freely engage with experiences on both sides of the river, which is absolutely crucial.

Cross border community residents are not required to obtain a green zone travel permit as long as they provide a valid form of ID with their address – like a driver licence.

Greater Sydney
Only 10 LGAs in Greater Sydney will remain in the red zone – Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield City, Inner West, Liverpool City, Parramatta City and Strathfield Municipality.

From 6pm on Monday 18 January, travellers from all other areas of Greater Sydney, Blue Mountains and Wollongong, can apply for an orange zone permit and enter Victoria.

Queensland zone changes
As of 6pm last Saturday 16 January, the LGAs of Greater Brisbane – Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Redland, Logan and Ipswich – were also declared to be orange zones.

The permit system is for both travellers to Victoria and residents of Victoria returning home from interstate travel.

For further details, click here.
For a summary on the Traffic Light Entry System, click here.